The Hound of the Baskervilles Book

The Hound of the Baskervilles is the third of the four crime novels written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle featuring the detective Sherlock Holmes. Originally serialised in The Strand Magazine from August 1901 to April 1902, it is set largely on Dartmoor in Devon in England’s West Country and tells the story of an attempted murder inspired by the legend of a fearsome, diabolical hound of supernatural origin. Sherlock Holmes and his companion Dr. Watson investigate the case. This was the first appearance of Holmes since his apparent death in “The Final Problem”, and the success of The Hound of the Baskervilles led to the character’s eventual revival.

One of the most famous stories ever written, in 2003, the book was listed as number 128 of 200 on the BBC’s The Big Read poll of the UK’s “best-loved novel.” In 1999, it was listed as the top Holmes novel, with a perfect rating from Sherlockian scholars of 100.


Chapter 1: Mr. Sherlock Holmes

Chapter 2: The Curse of the Baskervilles

Chapter 3: The Problem

Chapter 4: Sir Henry Baskerville

Chapter 5: Three Broken Threads

Chapter 6: Baskerville Hall

Chapter 7: The Stapletons of Merripit House

Chapter 8: First Report of Dr. Watson

Chapter 9: Second Report of Dr. Watson

Chapter 10: Extract from the Diary of Dr. Watson

Chapter 11: The Man on the Tor

Chapter 12: Death on the Moor

Chapter 13: Fixing the Nets

Chapter 14: The Hound of the Baskervilles

Chapter 15: A Retrospection

Please share it guys!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *